In recognition of our world's changing needs, UL and NAAEE are proud to support innovative non-profit programs embracing E-STEM to inspire the next generation of scientists, business leaders, researchers, inventors, and engineers.

Five recognition awards will be distributed for innovation and excellence in the E-STEM field.

(1) US $100,000 Recognition Award
(2) US $50,000 Recognition Awards
(2) US $25,000 Recognition Awards

For a Total of US $250,000 in Recognition Awards

Thank you to each of you and your amazing programs that have applied for this year’s UL Innovative Education Award.
We look forward to learning all about your innovative E-STEM work and how you are engaging the next generation of engineers, scientists, business leaders, researchers, and inventors.

Together we can power a sustainable tomorrow!


In addition to funding, UL employees, including science, engineering, and technical experts, will work directly with the selected organizations to provide expertise, resources, and volunteer hours to help further the winning projects' efforts in E-STEM education.


Winners will be asked to participate in ongoing communication with UL and NAAEE over the course of one (1) year following the receipt of the Award in regards to the continuation of their work through the aid of the Award. This communication will include:

Quarterly Online Check-ins
Quarterly Reports
Short Content Updates for the ULIEA Blog
Media Content with Media Releases
A Formal Site Visit from UL and NAAEE
End-of-Year Final Report

All communication shall be in a spirit of collaboration, and UL is happy to provide research expertise, mentoring, and other types of support during this time period.

Additionally if your organization is selected as a winner, one to two representatives will be asked to attend a kick-off meeting with NAAEE and UL in summer 2018.

Winners will also be asked to participate in the evaluation of the ULIEA program, which may include surveys and interviews for staff and facilitating survey collection with program participants.